Skip to content

Cardiologist

March 11, 2011

It was a clinic, The Heart Clinic, that I had the appointment with Dr Nopporat….he was young and cheeky, it was a rapid connection.  Of course I grilled him on his medical credentials the first visit.  Handsome and charming come to mind.  He had  my number within weeks.. I said “Have you been to Australia?”  ‘Yes”…he replied.  ‘And what do you remember?”  I was being stern.  “South Australia” he said.  I said, “The wine”…he said, ‘Yes”……Cardio Connexions…The second visit I took a bottlae of aussie red from South Australia…he thanked me with that asian insrcutability, I am sure there was Chinese blood in his veins.  He was a fervent Buddhist.  I used give him books to read by Venrable Than Nich …..he assumed they were a gift not a loan of books in the way we share with our friends.

All the nurses had that youthful admiration of Dr Nopporat, and he was a handsome man.

I always wore scarves or beads to meet my cardiologist, Dr Nopporat.

He used to call me in Thai, Professor..

It was a linguistic game.  He was barely over 40 and switched on.  He was serious about medicine, about cardiology research.  It was not difficult for me to listen to this man and his youthful wisdom.  He was always suppportive.  I guess hypochondriacs are drawn to the medical profession.  I have always found healers.  From Malvern to Fitzroy, from Flemington to Elwood.

The last I heard from Nopporat was an email.

I wrote to tell him I was back in Australia with a medical nightmare ..

He sent a simple email back to me;

Ajarn breathe…

Dedicated to all the amazing thai people whom I touched and whom I was touched by…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2012 4:24 am

    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I
    was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

    • dyoll09 permalink*
      December 3, 2012 9:01 am

      Go to Google Captcha and see if they have a plug in for WordPress….

Leave a Reply

