Skip to content

For Stephen ( circa 1990’s ) In memento mori

March 3, 2010

the texture of your skin

upon the deep red pillow.

eyelashes curtaining your loving eyes.

I watched from behind

as your breathing was strained.

gazing was easy, no disturbance.

I came and went while you continued to sleep,

squeezing oranges whose skins

had also been kissed by the sun

as was yours

the day

before.

You embraced and talked uneasily

I listened

easily.

The moments lingered and each

leaving of your presence

has brought to my my heart

what I now feel.

Stephen no longer breathes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

