Skip to content

Hospital

April 28, 2009

I wandered lonely as a cloud through the streets of high rise condominiums.  They are impersonal, filing cabinets reaching to the sky, not all filled with tenants.  I was going to read some story books to local kids at a clinic established by a major city hospital.  It was a promotion for the clinic and they had organised for a foreigner to read some Aesops Fables to whoever might turn up.  I sat waiting for the green light to do my gig, one of city’s few cabaret acts at 3pm in the afternoon.  I read a few stories in both the local language and in english.  Kids were attentive and I performed full bore for these small folk.  They enjoyed the animal noises and all the expression I could muster to tell these fables.  Now it over and have returned to the quiet of my condominium far from the laugher of kids and noise.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

